Ubuntu Learning Part 1: Installing the Linux OS Ubuntu

I started playing around with a Linux Live CD on Wednesday. I wanted to see what I could do with an old laptop and an outdated desktop PC. I was prompted to do this for two reasons:

  1. I read the MakeUseOf guide “50 Uses for Live CDs” http://www.makeuseof.com/pages/download-50-cool-uses-for-live-cds
  2. I wanted to find a new learning experience that I could document.

Make Use Of has become one of my most favorite resources for tech advice and how to’s. They are geared to provide just enough information to get you started on your way and support links to guide you to what’s next. Now I had read the title of this guide several months ago and passed it by. Wednesday was simply the right time for me to find this guide again.

Recently, I’ve been finding myself frustrated by the apologies for the lack of technology in educational experiences.  The situation is nothing new, but I’m trying to determine what is the best approach to moving teachers and learners into a more user directed use of technology. With that in mind, I need to model the learning process of working in a completely foreign environment and document how that learning happens. Trying to create that unique environment where I have to learn something new with technology is not easy. I have decades of experience with Windows now and have worked with OSX for one year. So looking at Linux appears to be the best choice.

So what makes a learner?

  1. Identify the problem.
    • The main problem, Learn Linux, I’m just starting to define and is quite large and complex. This is a direction I am moving in, but I need to be more specific.
    • This week, the problem is how do I Install Linux.
  2. Research
    • Now this week the problem and the research were prompted simultaneously.
    • So what does that mean? Research raises questions, questions help you formulate problems. Answers come from research… we have a feedback loop. The more research you do, the more questions, problems, and answers we are likely to find.
    • As I am reading in many books about the shifting skills of this era, and we all are discovering for ourselves; we need to be creative, adaptable, and innovative.
  3. Try it for yourself!
    • No mater how much I read about it, and think about it, in the end, I have to do it.I found the resources, burned the boot disk, and played around with the OS booted off the CD rom. After playing with it for two nights, I decided to install. First I installed replacing Windows on the laptop. Then I partitioned the hard drive on the desktop and now have a dual boot Windows/Ubuntu PC. I learned how to do all of it by watching some YouTube videos and reading suggestions on forums. All the information is there, you just have to find trusted sources and then type the correct search terms. (Searching within a trusted site with Google is easy if you use the expression site:www.trustedsite.com Where trustedsite is whatever site you are using.)

Next up:

Passphrase encription of the home folder

Configuring Thunderbird to read my Exchange account.

This entry was posted in 21st Century Skills, Changes in Technology, Lunux, Ubuntu Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

